How to Get a Non-Professional Drivers License (Philippines)

I’ll be blogging about my personal experience in getting my first non-professional driving license last March 27, 2014. I visited the LTO Binangonan Branch since it’s the most accessible from Antipolo City.

Qualifications:

1. Must be at least seventeen (17) years old.
2. Must be physically and mentally fit to operate a motor vehicle.
3. Must not be a drug user or alcoholic.
4. Must be able to read and write in Filipino or English.
5. Must be clean, neat and presentable (wearing of sando, playing shorts and slippers during photo-taking and examinations will not be allowed).

Steps:
1. Accomplish medical exam from any LTO Accredited Clinics
– You may have a medical exam prior to getting an application form. We arrived at 6:30 to this branch. Since they’re not yet giving out application forms, I roam around and checked different Medical Clinics in the area. I look for “Door E”, it’s just a small room (around LTO Binangonan Area). The lady was approachable and she handed me an application form and she interviewed me for my Medical Test. She looked for my student permit, and she noticed that I do not have my OR attached, I told her I left it at home since those people I asked told me to bring 2 valid ID and your student permit. So I rushed back home to get it.

2. Accomplish the Driver’s License Application Form
-Number Issuance which is color coded. It will depend if what type will be your application.I was lucky I got the #44 at 8:40am. So I’ll be on the second batch for written exam.

3. Wait for your number to be called then submit form to LTO officer for identity and record evaluation.

4. When your name is called, prepare your smile for Photo capturing electronic signature

5. Proceed to cashier when name is called and pay for the written exam payment
– Lunch Break – we have our lunch at a Nipa hut like eatery in front of the LTO Branch.

6. Proceed to the Examination Room for the Written Exam
– Make sure to familiarize yourself with different traffic rules, road signs, and road awareness. We also watch a video of LTO for a short review.

7. They will announce if you pass or fail the written exam. After passing, proceed to actual driving test site.

8. Pay and take the actual driving test on the site. If you bring your own car/motorcycle, you do not need to pay for actual driving test.

9. Go back to LTO and wait to be called if passed. Then you need to pay for the actual license card fee.

10. Releasing of license.

– On my end, the experience goes like this: They released the temporary driving permit since the branch has a technical problem on printing the ID, I need to wait for a month for the release of my actual ID.

Expenses:
₱100 – Medical Exam
₱168 – Written Exam
₱418 – ID
Total: ₱686

Additional Payment if you do not have your own car/motorcycle during the actual test drive
+₱250 – Car
+₱150 – Motorcycle

VERY IMPORTANT:

– If you’re planning to have a print out of the form ahead of going to the LTO, make sure that you’ll print it back to back in a Legal Size Bond Paper. My 2-page Application was not accepted.

You may also download Driver’s License Application Form: http://www.lto.gov.ph/index.php/component/jdownloads/finish/3/85?Itemid=0

Other license related instructions: http://www.lto.gov.ph/index.php/services/drivers-licensing/112-license-related-transactions

LTO Exam Online: http://ltoexam.com/

 

2 thoughts on “How to Get a Non-Professional Drivers License (Philippines)

  1. Very useful guide! And I think this is a much faster process than waaaay back when I first got mine (think 15+ years ago!). I think it took me two trips to LTO Main to complete the whole process.

Leave a Reply below

